A fantastic week for Feilding Golf Club hosting the 37th National Left Handers tournament!

We had 84 players representing 50 Clubs (including 3 from Australia) vying for Open, Senior, Women & Super Senior titles.

In the Men’s Open Division, it was anyone’s trophy with Ethan Ward from Feilding holding a 1 shot lead over Ken Shea from Raglan heading into the final day. Feilding’s Roddy McCabe had a cracking round on Thursday shooting 70 to secure the win by 2 shots over Ethan, and winning the Bruce Poole Trophy – the second time Roddy has won this trophy, after last winning it when he was 17 – 36 years ago!! Roddy had a gross score of 302 for the 4 rounds, with Ethan runner up with a score of 304. Full results can be found here.

Steven Hitchman from Awatere Golf Club won the Mens Open Net and the Bob Charles Trophy with a 4 round net score of 286. Richard Hodge from Eketahuna was runner up. Net results can be found here.

In the Men’s Senior Gross competition, Warren Herbert from Manawatu was the recipient of the Rei Thompson trophy with a 4 round score of 322. Runner up was Tony Stowes from Te Aroha. Full results can be found here.

In the Men’s Senior Net competition and winning the Barry Turner trophy, with a net score of 289 was Bob Denton from Waiuku. Runner up was Ian Mackay from Rangitikei. Full results can be found here.

In the Women’s competition, and winning the overall gross for the 18th time and with a 77 shot lead was Lisa Herbert 🙂 Lisa wins the Keith Plier Trophy. Winning the Bob Harrington Trophy for best net, was Annette Purves. The Askew trophy for best stableford was won by Janelle Lewis. All women’s results can be found here.

Winning the Life members Trophy for the Super Seniors competition, which was 2 rounds played Tuesday and Thursday, was Judy Jensen from Wanganui. Judy also won the best 1 net round – the John Barbour Trophy with a net round of 66 on Thursday!

In other prizes, Richard Hodge from Eketahuna won the Lionel Kelly Trophy for the Men’s Open best net, last 2 rounds (68, 69). Bob Denton from Waiuku won the Tom Armstrong Trophy for the Men’s Senior best net, last 2 rounds (69, 71). Roddy McCabe from Feilding won the Nigel Osborne Trophy for the best gross round (70).

The Kakapo Trophy for the best District team of 4 was won by Auckland – Barry Matthews, Bob Denton & Greg Limond. The Schweppes trophy for the best Club team was won by Rangitikei #2 – Geoff Ingram, Ian Mackay & Wallace Miller. The Australia vs New Zealand Fenemor Trophy which was contested by John Hills & Barry Patton for NZ and Peter Robson & Cec Bailey for Australia was won by New Zealand!

A big thank you to our Major Sponsor Ros Chapman from You Travel in Feilding – Ros donated a Hole in One Prize for the 9th Hole – as it was not struck, the $1000 has been donated to Mercy Ships NZ who do fantastic work off the coast of Africa deploying hospital ships to low-income countries – improving the quality of life for people living with the multi-dimensional impact of poverty, disfigurement, and disability.

City Honda in Palmerston North donated a $200 voucher for anyone who had a Hole in One during the tournament – as this also was not stuck, we did a lucky draw and the recipient was Nigel Messenger.

We’d also like to thank all of our sponsors, to the team at Eatery 1487 who kept everyone very well fed and watered, to the NALGNZ committee and all the staff at Feilding Golf Club for a very successful tournament.

We look forward to seeing you at next year’s tournament being held on the 7th – 10th April at Napier Golf Club!

Scroll to top